The Service Lifecycle

Posted on

These questions are based on EXE-101: ITIL Foundation Certification in IT Service Management Version 3
Self Test Software Practice Test

Objective: The service lifecycle.
Sub-objective: Briefly explain the service lifecycle.

Single answer, multiple-choice

Which stage of the Service Management Lifecycle provides a closed-loop feedback system using the Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) model?

  1. Service strategy.
  2. Service design.
  3. Service transition.
  4. Continual service improvement.

D. Continual service improvement.

The Continual Service Improvement stage provides a closed-loop feedback system using the PDCA model.

Service strategy is primarily concerned with value creation through service. It establishes objectives and expectations and prioritizes the objectives.

Service design includes service portfolio design. It adapts objectives into services and service assets.

Service Transition uses the Service V model. It transitions services into operations.

Office of Government Commerce. The Official Introduction to the ITIL Service Lifecycle, Chapter 2: Core Guidance Topics, p. 11-14. The Stationery Press, 2007.

Like what you see? Share it.Share on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on RedditTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone


Posted in Archive|