Eye on Certification: Internet

Posted on
Share on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on RedditTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone

In the wired (and increasingly wireless) world in which we live, the Web is used for, well, just about everything, really. Consequently, Internet-related certification can be good career move for IT professionals. Here are some most well-known Web certs out there:


Prosoft CIW


Prosoft’s Certified Internet Web Professional (CIW) credentialing program verifies competency with Internet technologies at the associate, professional and master levels. All the standard CIW certifications start out with an introductory Foundations exam (#1D0-510), which covers Internet business, site development and networking technology. Upon successful completion of this test, participants will receive the CIW Associate credential.


The next level of certification in the CIW suite is the midlevel CIW Professional, which requires passing an additional exam in one of eight delineated job roles: Site Designer (#1D0-420), E-Commerce Designer (#1D0-425), Server Administrator (#1D0-450), Inter-Networking Professional (#1D0-460), Security Professional (#1D0-470), Application Developer (#1D0-430), Database Specialist (#1D0-441) and Enterprise Specialist (#1D0-442).


CIW also maintains two specialization certifications:



  • CIW Security Analyst, which entails completion of the Security Professional exam and attainment of one approved networking administration credential from Microsoft, Cisco, Novell or LPI.
  • CIW Web Developer, which involves passing the test of the same name (#1D0-532).


At the highest echelon of the CIW program are the four Master certifications. The CIW Master Designer includes the Site Designer and E-Commerce Designer exams, while the CIW Master Administrator encompasses the Server Administrator, Inter-Networking Professional and Security Professional tests.


The Master Web Site Manager and Master Enterprise Developer credentials are distinct in that they contain exams exclusive to that level of certification. In addition to the Site Designer and Server Administrator exams, the Master Web Site Manager involves two Web Languages tests that cover JavaScript (#1D0-435) and Perl (#1D0-437) fundamentals. The Master Enterprise Developer includes that Web Languages component; CIW’s Application Developer, Database Specialist and Enterprise Specialist tests; a CIW Object-Oriented Analysis and Design with UML test (#1D0-538);and a Sun exam on Java programming (#310-025 or 310-035).


For more information, see www.ciwcertified.com.




The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is a vendor-neutral credentialing organization that has two Web-focused certifications: e-Biz+ for e-commerce and i-Net+ for Internet and online technologies. Although the former credential, which requires successful completion of one 60-question exam, focuses on foundational concepts, as well as central issues and technologies involved with e-business, it is not technology-intensive. In fact, CompTIA emphasizes that it is designed for both IT practitioners and business professionals in areas such as sales and marketing, but it also recommends candidates have at least 12 months of e-business experience, regardless of technical proficiency.


As with the e-Biz+, participants do not have to be well-versed in IT to take on the i-Net+, even though tech companies such as IBM use this credential as a prerequisite in their own certification programs. I-Net+ validates six months of experience with Internet, intranet, extranet and e-commerce independently of any particular job role. This certification involves one exam, which has 74 questions and addresses Web, networking, development and other technologies at a very basic level.


For more information, see www.comptia.org.




The World Organization of Webmasters (WOW) developed its Certified Web Professional (CWP) program to validate key skills and knowledge in both general and specific areas of practice within the industry. Certification candidates interested in undertaking any of the offerings in the WOW collection of credentials may do so through training partner programs, self study or professional experience.


The first level of WOW’s suite is the Certified Apprentice, which gauges a fundamental comprehension of Web concepts on the part of individuals studying and working to become professionals in the field. The exams include WOW Certified Web Designer Apprentice (CWDSA-apprentice), WOW Certified Apprentice Webmaster (CAW-apprentice), WOW Certified Web Developer Apprentice (CWDVA-apprentice) and WOW Certified Web Administrator Apprentice (CWAA-apprentice).


Participants who pass the exam at 50 percent or more will be designated a Certified Apprentice in the specific area covered by the test, while those who receive 70 percent or higher automatically obtain the corresponding Associate-level certification. At the Associate tier, there are four certifications: WOW Certified Web Designer Associate (CWDSA), WOW Certified Associate Webmaster (CAW), WOW Certified Web Developer Associate (CWDVA) and WOW Certified Web Administrator Associate (CWAA).


Candidates who acquire all four Associate certifications will achieve the WOW Certified Professional Webmaster (CPW) credential — the generalist Web certification within the highest stage of assessment — although they also can get this by taking the CPW exam directly. Other certifications at this level include the WOW Certified Professional Web Designer (CPWDS), WOW Certified Professional Web Developer (CPWDV) and WOW Certified Professional Web Administrator (CPWA).


Outside of this hierarchy, the organization also offers the WOW Certified E-Commerce Manager (CECM) and the WOW Certified Web Consultant (CWCSB).


For more information, see www.webprofessional.org.

Share on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on RedditTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone


Posted in Archive|