Citrix Announces Most Advanced Certification

Posted on
Share on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on RedditTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone

Citrix Inc. has announced that its newest certification—the Citrix Certified Integration Architect (CCIA)—is now available. This new credential is the most challenging Citrix certification on the market, requiring a six-hour lab exam, in addition to the more common, proctored exam requirements.




With the introduction of the CCIA certification, Citrix certifications now address the entire project life cycle around the Citrix MetaFrame Access Suite, according to Karl Liebman, director of corporate consulting and education for Citrix. The IT project life cycle, he said, includes five stages: analysis, design, build/test, rollout and support. While the existing Citrix Certified Enterprise Architect (CCEA) credential addresses the second part of the life cycle, including rollout and support, the new CCIA will test candidates on the beginning stages of the life cycle, including analysis, design and build/test.




“The CCEA, or Citrix Certified Enterprise Administrator, begins in the middle of build and test and works through to the end to rollout and support,” said Liebman. “The CCIA takes you from the beginning up to there, including analysis and design and parts of build and test. The reason we did this is we wanted to make sure we had a program out there that encompassed the full life cycle.”




The CCIA certification tests design and integration knowledge to ensure successful deployment of the Citrix MetaFrame Access Suite. Liebman said the certification is ideal for anyone implementing the Citrix MetaFrame Access Suite working for companies using the technology, as well as for consulting firms that work with the product suite. Many professionals who earn the CCIA, he said, will also earn the CCEA, depending on their job responsibilities, which usually hinge on the size of the company.




Liebman added, “It’s a challenging certification, no doubt. It’s probably best for people with at least two or three years’ experience working with Citrix MetaFrame Access Suite.”




To earn the CCIA certification, candidates must pass the following exams:





  • Exam #222, Citrix MetaFrame XP Presentation Server, Feature Release 3 (For a limited time, Exam #220 or Exam #221 will also count toward this requirement)
  • One Microsoft design exam selected from a list of approved exams
  • Exam #610, Citrix Core Technologies and Architecture
  • Exam #611, Citrix Design, Integration and Methodology
  • Exam #612, Citrix Certified Integration Architect Lab




 Exam #612, a six-hour hands-on lab, puts candidates through a challenging scenario in which they must complete an infrastructure assessment, design a solution and provide specific concepts. Initially, this exam will be available at Citrix’s headquarters in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.




“We’re excited about this new certification,” Liebman said. “It’s going to be challenging. When a customer hires a CCIA, we want them to know that they are getting somebody who can do what they need done and in the best way.”




Courses to prepare for the CCIA certification are available now through Citrix Authorized Learning Centers (CALCs) around the world. To learn more, visit

Emily Hollis is managing editor for Certification Magazine. She can be reached at

Share on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on RedditTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone


Posted in Archive|